背景波图形。
一个拿着笔记本的女孩站在一所私立学校外面,想知道她是否会被录取。

考私立学校难吗?

2022 年 5 月 24 日

作为一名顾问,前招生主任和高中安置顾问,我多次被问到这个问题。就像许多看似直截了当的私立学校招生问题一样,“视情况而定”。以下内容将帮助我们确定一个更令人满意的答案,具体到您的家庭情况。

为什么要考虑私立学校?

  • 你对你的公立学校选择不满意吗? 在回答“是”之前,请确保彻底研究您的公立学校。如果他们不能令人满意的选择,那么从更长的私立学校名单开始是有意义的。家庭常犯的一个错误是只申请一两所学校以节省时间,如果他们的孩子没有被录取,他们默认选择一所公立学校。当这种情况发生时,它们通常会在第二年再次申请,为孩子带来不必要的学校转换和不稳定。对于每个人来说,最好在第一次就彻底,只做一次。
  • 您的孩子是否有特定的需要,才能或气质? 如果是这样,请确保您正在考虑的私立学校具有满足已确定需求的计划或能力。对于需要高水平干预或非常个性化住宿的儿童来说,任何市场的选择都会减少。然而,更广泛的学校可以为有较温和需求的孩子提供服务。如有必要,请与您所在地区的学习专家合作,了解您的孩子在这方面的情节 - 评估许多孩子的专家可能会对最适合您孩子的学校提出建议。

你的私立学校市场是什么?

  • 您是在城市地区还是私立学校市场饱和的郊区? 通常,在饱和的市场中,你会发现少数非常有竞争力的学校和各种各样的学校略逊一筹 - 它们通常较小,更新或有专业课程。在这些地方,特定类型的学习概况通常有更多的选择,从专门研究学习差异的学校到针对高天赋儿童的计划以及介于两者之间的一切。
  • 您是否在私立学校很少的郊区或农村地区? 这些市场可用的选择较少,并且不太可能拥有广泛的专业计划。虽然这有时可能表明总体上可用的位置较少,但这也意味着对这些位置的竞争较少。如果您的邻近地区选择有限,请考虑前往邻近的社区,那里有更多的学校。许多私立学校都有交通选择,可能会使通勤比你想象的更现实。

回答上述问题将帮助您确定合适的学校列表。然后你可以问自己一个稍微不同的问题:我们的孩子进入我们确定的私立学校有多难?有一些方法可以了解您的孩子被您喜欢的学校录取的机会。

研究每所学校的入学人数和入学点。

对于列表中的每所学校,确定总入学人数和每个年级的入学人数,您通常可以在学校网站或学校搜索网站上找到这些入学人数。Admission.org 的学校搜索工具包括注册和专业计划信息。然后找出切入点成绩。 对于大多数K-8学校来说,它通常是幼儿园和中学的切入点,如五年级或六年级。高中最常见的入学年级是九年级,但寄宿学校通常有九年级和十年级的空缺。 每个学校和市场都可能有所不同,因此这是一项重要的研究。

如果您的孩子不是在传统的入学点入学,请询问学校是否接受您首选成绩的申请。根据其招生政策,一些学校将承担自然减员并接受“脱年级”的申请。

确定每所学校服务的学生类型。

一些学校对此含糊不清,迎合了广泛的学生;其他的都非常具体。如果您无法从学校网站上清楚地了解,请尝试参加有学生参加的活动。与招生人员或其他在学校有孩子的家长交谈也会有所帮助。如果您不认识任何人,许多招生办公室会为此目的提供家长大使。

一旦你清楚每所学校为谁服务,就你的孩子是否匹配做一个现实的评估。 如果你的孩子不适合这个计划,环境将不允许他们茁壮成长,而且因为学校希望让学生处于成功的最佳位置,所以即使他们有空位,他们也不太可能接受你的孩子。

如果您名单上的学校都不是天生的学校,那么可能有一些您没有考虑过的学校可能对您的孩子具有变革意义。如上所述,父母犯的最大错误之一是没有申请足够的学校或忽视鲜为人知的“正确匹配”学校。现在是时候放下次要因素,例如您孩子的朋友正在申请的学校,并真正专注于为您的孩子提供最好的学校。

了解申请要求。

申请要求因学校而异,他们用于处理申请的系统也是如此。确保保持井井有条,并跟踪清单上每所学校的要求。遵守申请截止日期很重要,因为有些学校直到准时申请后才会考虑逾期申请。

您还应该密切关注每所学校的入学考试要求。许多在大流行期间采用考试可选或免考试政策的学校正在看到大量申请。与这些学校的招生团队交谈,了解这些政策是否影响了他们的录取率,如果是这样,这是扩大学校范围的另一个原因。

“上私立学校很难吗?”

在研究了您为什么寻求私立学校教育,仔细审查了您的市场,并专注于为您的孩子找到最好的学校茁壮成长之后,回答这个问题就更容易了。事实上,你最终可能会得到比你最初想象的更多的选择。

Jamie Moffett是Walk Feet Advisors的创始人,这是一家为申请独立学校的家庭提供咨询的实践。她曾在加利福尼亚州科尔特马德拉的马林乡村走读学校担任录取K-8主任,在那里工作了十八年。

想要更多提示和资源?

加入 招生学院,这是我们为期一年的活动计划,支持家庭逐步完成 私立学校的招生过程

最新的文章

阅读有关寻找和申请最适合您的学校的最新建议。

查看全部

使用SAO可以节省多长时间?

您的家人可以通过Standard Application Online申请私立学校节省多长时间(SAO)?了解如何使用SAO节省 14 小时或更长时间。

SAO (页面建议)
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 6 月 27 日
2022 年 6 月 27 日

如何让您的孩子为寄宿学校做好准备

如何让您的孩子为上寄宿学校做好准备?在装载汽车并说再见之前,您可以开始做一些事情。

未找到任何项目。
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 5 月 12 日
2022 年 5 月 12 日

家长和私立学校:如何建立牢固的伙伴关系

您可能已经与您的孩子讨论过要上一所新的私立学校,但您也加入了一个新的社区 - 以下是如何充分利用它!

未找到任何项目。
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 4 月 25 日
2022 年 4 月 25 日
背景波图形。

A background wave graphic.
A girl with her notebook standing outside of a private school wondering if she will get accepted.

Is it hard to get into private school?

May 24, 2022

As a consultant, former admission director, and high school placement counselor, I’ve been asked this question many times. As is the case with many seemingly straightforward private school admissions questions, “It depends.” The following will help us pinpoint a more satisfying answer specific to your family’s situation. 

Why are you considering private school?

  • Are you unhappy with your public school options? Before answering yes, make sure to research your public schools thoroughly. If they aren’t satisfying options, it makes sense to start with a longer list of private schools. A common mistake families make is to only apply to one or two schools to save time, and if their child isn’t admitted, they choose a public school by default. When this happens, they often apply again in the following year, creating more school switches and destabilization for the child than necessary. It’s better for everyone to be thorough the first time and only do it once.
  • Does your child have a specific need, aptitude, or temperament? If so, make sure the private schools you’re considering have the program or capacity to address the identified need. There will be fewer options in any market for children who require high levels of intervention or a very personalized accommodation. However, a wider range of schools can serve kids with milder needs. If necessary, work with a learning specialist in your area to understand where your child would plot in this respect—experts who evaluate many children may have recommendations for schools that would serve your child best.

What is your private school market?

  • Are you in an urban area or a suburban area with a saturated private school market? Typically, in saturated markets, you will find a handful of very competitive schools and a wide range of schools that are slightly less so—they’re often smaller, newer, or have specialty programs. There are usually more options for specific types of learning profiles in these locations, from schools specializing in learning differences to programs for highly gifted children and everything in between.
  • Are you in a suburban or rural area with very few private schools? These markets have fewer options available and are less likely to have a wide range of specialized programs. While this can sometimes indicate fewer spots available overall, it can also mean less competition for those spots. If your immediate area has limited options, consider traveling to a neighboring community where there are more schools. Many private schools have transportation options that might make the commute more realistic than you think.

Answering the above questions will help you identify a list of suitable schools. Then you can ask yourself a slightly different question: How hard is it for our child to get into our identified private schools? There are ways to gain visibility into your child’s chances of getting accepted at your preferred schools.

Research each school’s enrollment numbers and entry points. 

For each school on your list, determine the total and per-grade enrollment, which you can usually find on the school websites or a school search site. Admission.org’s school search tool includes enrollment and specialty program info. Then find out the entry-points grades. For most K–8 schools, it’s often kindergarten and a middle school entry point like fifth or sixth grade. The most common entry grade in high school is ninth, but boarding schools often have ninth- and tenth-grade openings.  Every school and market can vary, so this is important research. 

If your child is not entering at a traditional entry point, ask if the school accepts applications for your preferred grade. Depending on their admission policy, some schools will assume attrition and take applications for the “off grades.”

Determine the type of student that each school serves.  

Some schools are vague about this, catering to a wide range of students; others are very specific. If you are left without a clear understanding from the school website, try attending an event where students are present. Talking to admission officers or other parents with children at the school can also be helpful. If you don’t know anyone, many admission offices will provide parent ambassadors for this purpose.

Once you are clear about who each school serves, make a realistic evaluation as to whether your child is a match. If your child doesn’t fit the program, the environment will not allow them to thrive, and because schools want to put students in the best position to succeed, it's unlikely they'll accept your child even if they have open spots.

If none of the schools on your list are natural matches, there might be schools you haven’t considered that could be transformational for your child. As mentioned above, one of the biggest mistakes parents make is not applying to enough schools or overlooking lesser-known, “right match” schools. This is the time to let go of secondary factors such as the schools your child's friends are applying to and truly focus on the best schools for your child.

Understand the application requirements.

Application requirements vary by school, as do the systems they use to process applications. Make sure to stay organized and track the requirements for each school on your list. It’s important to adhere to application due dates, as some schools won’t consider late applications until after the on-time applicants.

You should also pay close attention to each school’s admission test requirements. Many schools that adopted test-optional or test-free policies during the pandemic are seeing an influx of applications. Talk to the admissions teams at these schools to learn if these policies have affected their acceptance rates, and if so, it’s another reason to broaden your pool of schools.  

“Is it hard to get into private school?”

After examining why you are seeking private school education, have carefully reviewed your market, and have focused on finding the best school for your child to thrive, it’s easier to answer that question. In fact, you may end up with more options than you initially thought possible.

Jamie Moffett is the founder of Walking Feet Advisors, an advising practice for families applying to independent schools. She previously served as the director of admission K–8 at Marin Country Day School in Corte Madera, California, where she worked for eighteen years.

Want more tips and resources?

Join Admission Academy, our yearlong event program that supports families step-by-step through the private school admissions process.

Latest Articles

Read the most up-to-date advice on finding and applying to your best-fit school. 

View All

How much time can I save with the SAO?

How much time can your family save applying to private schools with the Standard Application Online (SAO)? Learn how you can save 14 hours or more with the SAO.

SAO (Page Advice)
An arrow icon link.
Jun 27, 2022
Jun 27, 2022

How to Prepare Your Child for Boarding School

How can you get your child ready for boarding school? Here are some things you can start doing well before you load up the car and say your goodbyes.

No items found.
An arrow icon link.
May 12, 2022
May 12, 2022

Parents and Private Schools: How to Build a Strong Partnership

You've probably talked to your child about attending a new private school, but you're also joining a new community—here's how to make the most of it!

No items found.
An arrow icon link.
Apr 25, 2022
Apr 25, 2022
A background wave graphic.