背景波图形。
过程

了解私立学校入学
申请流程

将此视为您为家人寻找最佳私立学校的旅程的起跑线。老实说,入学申请过程是一场马拉松,而不是冲刺,但我们在这里帮助您指导每一步。首先查看下面的时间表,不要忘记注册我们的免费Admission Concierge服务,以便在整个申请过程中及时收到提示和提醒。

赛道起跑线上的孩子们代表私立学校的招生过程。
虚线图形。背景云图像。背景云图像。
背景波图形。

入学 时间表

下面的时间表代表了北美私立走读学校和寄宿学校的典型招生周期,申请截止日期是固定的,从入学学年的前一整年开始。请注意,每个学校的截止日期和要求各不相同,随着 COVID-19 改变私立学校招生的格局,越来越多的学校开始滚动招生。

背景波图形。
8月至10月

发现

随时开始,在8月至10月之前认真起来。

虽然您可以随时研究私立学校,但您希望在初秋之前缩小您的名单。使用我们的 私立学校查找器 ,根据您的地理,年级,性别和课程标准搜索顶级学校。然后,通过访问他们的网站,关注他们的社交帐户并 与其他家长交谈,了解有关您感兴趣的学校的更多信息。

即使进行了彻底的研究,也可能不适合您家庭的学校仍然不在您的雷达上。通过加入我们的免费服务 与顶级学校建立联系,您将听到学校根据您的预定义偏好认为他们的产品是很好的匹配。这是了解更多有关您的选择的好方法,而无需投入额外的腿部工作。

了解更多与学校联系私立学校查找器私立学校博览会

录取过程时间表情节点。
抽烟

查询

在学校网站上或通过SAO填写查询表是一种快速简便的方式,可以表明您的家人有兴趣申请并希望了解更多信息。查询表格通常是可选的,但我们建议您在愿意参与入学对话后立即完成此步骤。为什么?因为你越早联系学校,你就越有时间与它的招生团队建立关系,让你比后来进入这个过程的家庭更有优势。

录取过程时间表情节点。
10月-德森伯

访谈、开放日和旅游

在正常情况下,学校参观是参加开放日,进行 入学面试,上课以及与学校管理人员,教师,教练,学生甚至现任家长交谈的绝佳机会。由于COVID-19,许多私立学校已过渡到在线面试和开放日活动。虽然体验不同,但参加开放日仍然是了解学校的重要组成部分。出勤率也发出了一个关于你的家人对学校的兴趣的强烈信号,当学校的招生委员会做出艰难的决定时,这意味着什么。

了解更多面试准备虚拟面试技巧面对面面试技巧练习面试问题

录取过程时间表情节点。
10月至11月

申请表

私立学校入学申请是多步骤流程,从在线表格开始,从您的家人那里收集必要的信息以及 学生的论文。填写此表格通常允许您访问学校的在线入学门户网站,在那里您将了解有关申请要求和截止日期的更多信息。

如果您的家人正在申请多所学校,那么为每个学校完成独特的申请是一项非常耗时的工作。我们通过我们的 标准在线申请(SAO)让您更轻松地做到这一点,这是进入幼儿园前到研究生的学生的首选普通私立学校申请表。完成SAO一次,您可以直接从我们的 私立学校查找器将其提交给400多所参与学校。

知道更多SAO立即申请

录取过程时间表情节点。
10月-德森伯

成绩单和教师推荐

在联系您当前学校的注册处或行政办公室索取成绩单之前,请检查您申请的学校是否有为此目的的正式表格。最重要的是:要求因学校和年级而异,因此请确保您正确跟踪它们。并留意接受SAO的学校,因为通用表格使在此过程中更容易完成这一步。

小学要求基于您申请的年级水平,通常要求家长声明和学校校长,辅导员或老师的一般建议。

大多数初中和高中入学要求要求学生的现任英语和数学老师推荐老师,以及个人和特殊兴趣推荐。由于COVID-19的限制,学校了解学生与现任教师的合作不那么紧密,因此一些学校现在允许或额外要求去年的教师提供英语和数学建议。

请记住,教师和学校官员的日程安排很忙,可能会收到来自多个学生的推荐请求和成绩单请求。最好尽早提出您的请求,以便有足够的时间进行彻底和深思熟虑的评估,但不要太早,以免老师没有时间了解您的孩子。根据常见的标记期,11 月初至中旬是提交请求的最佳时间。

了解更多您应该向谁寻求推荐?

录取过程时间表情节点。
OCTOBER–1月

测试和评估

申请三年级及以上的学生,特别是初中和高中,通常被要求参加标准化考试,例如我们的SSAT。SSAT代表中学入学考试,涵盖口头,数学和阅读技能。自1957年以来,SSAT一直是标准化入学考试的黄金标准,可作为基于计算机的考试供学生在家中或Prometric考试中心参加,以及纸质版本

小学低年级学生通常与学校官员一起完成学术评估,而不是标准化考试。国际学生可能还必须参加 托福 (英语作为外语测试), 雅思 (国际英语语言测试系统)或 Duolingo 英语考试。

最好在申请流程的早期练习并SSAT,以便有时间进行第二次测试。许多学生在春季服用一次,然后在秋季再次服用。平均而言,重新获得SSAT每个部分提高9-10分,高年级学生每个部分增加12-14分。

当然,标准化考试成绩本身并不能完全衡量孩子的潜力。这种理解就是为什么我们还提供the Character Skills Snapshot,这是对您孩子的偏好,态度和信仰的整体衡量,以帮助招生办公室了解您的孩子是谁以及他们所知道的。

了解更多应试技巧SSATCharacter Skills Snapshot

录取过程时间表情节点。
一月

报名截止日期

申请截止日期因学校而异,但一月中旬是最常见的时间表。请记住,您有责任按时提交所有文档、成绩单和建议。我们建议您在日历和冰箱上张贴您申请的每所学校的截止日期,以将其放在首位。

录取过程时间表情节点。
OCTOBER–1月

财政援助申请

私立学校学费援助 有两种形式-经济援助和绩效援助。经济援助是根据每个家庭的经济需求和学校的可用资金发放的。择优助学金不是基于经济需求,而是作为学术或社区奖学金颁发的。

大多数学校从10月1日开始接受下一学年的经济援助申请。经济援助委员会审查每个申请家庭的收入,支出和债务以评估需求,要求为国际申请人提交财务报表和文件,如W2或外国纳税申报表。

经济援助申请截止日期因学校而异,有些助学金是滚动授予的,但最常见的申请截止日期是在12月15日至1月31日之间。入学和经济援助申请截止日期通常不同,大多数学校还为新生和返校学生提供单独的经济援助截止日期,因此请确保您朝着正确的日期努力。

经济援助决定独立于录取决定,但它们在类似的时间表上发布,以确保申请家庭拥有做出入学决定所需的信息。

学到更多: 申请财政援助


录取过程时间表情节点。
2月至4月

招生决定

再一次,每所学校都不同的免责声明在这里适用。大多数私立学校会在 3 月份发送录取决定书,但有些通知最早会在 2 月下旬送达,而且学校内部的日期有时会根据年级或滚动录取而有所不同。同样,您的家人必须做出最终决定并提交入学合同的时间从两周到一个月不等。

重访日 是您最终决策的关键资源。最大限度地利用这个机会体验学校并提出问题。当然,由于COVID-19,现在重温的日子可能看起来有所不同。大多数私立学校正在适应,为申请人提供在线开放日和虚拟上学一天的机会。

了解更多候补名单时该怎么办

背景云图像。
背景波图形。

注册Admission Academy


通过Admission Academy,与私立学校招生负责人和按需资源进行持续的实时网络研讨会计划,帮助您的家人找到,申请和注册最适合的学校,从而获得对私立学校申请流程的基本见解。

学到更多

PROCESS

Understanding the Private School Admission
Application Process

Consider this the starting line on your journey to finding the best private school for your family. We’ll be honest, the admission application process is a marathon, not a sprint, but we’re here to help guide you every step of the way. Begin by reviewing the timeline below to familiarize yourself with the overall process.

Admission Timeline

The timeline below represents the typical admissions cycle for North American schools with fixed application deadlines, which begins a full year before the enrolling school year. Please be aware that deadlines and requirements vary per school, and with COVID-19 altering the landscape of private school enrollment, more and more schools are conducting rolling admissions.

August–October

Discover

Start anytime, get serious by August–October.

While you can research private schools at any time, you’ll want to narrow your list by early fall. Use our Private School Finder to search for top schools based on your geographic, grade level, gender, and program criteria. Then learn more about the schools that interest you by visiting their websites, following their social accounts, and talking with other parents.

Even with thorough research, it’s possible that the best school for your family still isn’t on your radar. By joining our recruitment list when registering an account, schools will contact you to share their offerings. It’s a great way to learn more about your options without having to put in extra legwork.

Learn more: Private School Finder, Private School Fairs

ASAP

Inquire

Completing an inquiry form on a school’s website is a quick and easy way to signal that your family is interested in applying and would like to learn more. Inquiry forms are often optional, but we recommend that you complete this step as soon as you’re comfortable engaging in admission conversations. Why? Because the sooner you contact the school, the more time you have to establish a relationship with its admission team, giving you an advantage over families that come into the process later. 

October–DECember

Interviews, Open Houses, & Tours

In normal circumstances, school visits are a wonderful opportunity to take part in an open house, conduct admission interviews, attend classes, and speak with school administrators, teachers, coaches, students, and even current parents. Due to COVID-19, many private schools have transitioned to online interviews and open house events. While the experience is different, attending an open house is still an important part of getting to know a school. Attendance also sends a strong signal regarding your family’s interest in the school, and that means something when it comes time for the school’s admissions committee to make tough decisions. 

Learn more: Virtual Interview Tips, Practice Interview Questions

October–November

Application Form

Private school admission applications are multistep processes that begin with an online form to collect the requisite information from your family along with the student’s essay. Completing this form typically grants you access to the school’s online admission portal where you’ll learn more about the application requirements and deadlines. 

If your family is applying to multiple schools, completing unique applications for each is a lot of time-consuming work. We make this easier for you with our Standard Application Online (SAO), the premier common private school application form for students entering pre-kindergarten through post-graduate. Complete the SAO once and you can submit it to over 400 participating schools directly from our Private School Finder.

Learn more: SAO, Apply Now

October–December

Transcripts & Teacher Recommendations

Before contacting your current school’s registrar or administrative office to request transcripts, check to see if the schools that you’re applying to have official forms for this purpose. Most importantly: Requirements vary from school to school and across grade levels, so make sure you’re tracking them correctly. And keep an eye out for schools that accept the SAO, as the common forms make it easier to fulfill this step in the process.

Elementary school requirements are based on the grade level that you’re applying into, and typically ask for a parent statement and a general recommendation from the school’s principal, guidance counselor, or teacher.

Most middle and upper school admission requirements ask for teacher recommendations from your student’s current English and math teachers, as well as personal and special interest recommendations. Due to COVID-19 limitations, schools understand that students aren’t working as closely with current teachers, so some schools are now allowing or additionally requesting English and math recommendations from last year’s teachers. 

Bear in mind that teachers and school officials have busy schedules and are likely receiving recommendation requests and transcript requests from multiple students. It’s best to make your requests early to allow adequate time for thorough and thoughtful assessments, but not so early that teachers haven’t had time to get to know your child. Based on common marking periods, early to mid November is the best time to submit requests.

Learn more: Recommendation Letter Tips

October–January

Testing and Assessments

Students applying to grades three and higher, especially middle and high school, are commonly asked to take a standardized test such as our SSAT. The SSAT stands for Secondary School Admission Test, which covers verbal, math, and reading skills. The gold standard for standardized admission testing since 1957, the SSAT is available as a computer-based test for students to take at home or a Prometric test center, as well as a paper-based version

Lower elementary grade students typically complete an academic assessment with a school official instead of a standardized test. International students may also have to take TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language), IELTS (International English Language Testing System), or the Duolingo English test. 

It’s best to practice and take the SSAT early in the application process, so there’s time for a second testing. Many students take it once in the spring and then again in the fall. On average, middle school students retaking the SSAT see a 9–10 point improvement and upper school students gain 12–14 points.

Of course, standardized test scores alone aren’t a full measure of your child’s potential. This understanding is why we also offer the The Character Skills Snapshot, a holistic measure of your child’s preferences, attitudes, and beliefs, to help admission offices get to know who your child is in addition to what they know. Best of all, The Snapshot is free to any student that registers for the SSAT.

Learn More: Test-Taking Tips, Visit SSAT, The Character Skills Snapshot

January

Application Deadline

Application deadlines vary by school, but mid-January is the most common timeline. Remember, it’s your responsibility to submit all documentation, transcripts, and recommendations on time. We recommend posting the deadline date for every school you’re applying to in your calendar and on your fridge to keep them top of mind.

OCTOber–January

Financial Aid Applications

Private school tuition assistance comes in two forms—financial aid and merit aid. Financial aid is awarded based on the financial need of each family and the school’s available funding. Merit aid isn’t based on financial need and is awarded as academic or community scholarships. 

Most schools begin accepting financial aid applications for the following school year on October 1. Financial aid committees review each applying family’s income, expenses, and debt to assess need, requiring the submission of financial statements and documentation such as W2s or foreign tax returns for international applicants. 

Financial aid application deadlines vary by school, and some grant awards on a rolling basis, but the most common application due dates are between December 15 and January 31. Admission and financial aid application due dates are often different, and most schools also have separate financial aid deadlines for new and returning students, so make sure you’re working toward the correct date.

Financial aid decisions are independent of admission decisions, but they are released on similar timelines to ensure applying families have the information they need to make enrollment decisions.

February–April

Enrollment Decisions

Once again, the disclaimer that every school is different applies here. Most private schools send admission decision letters in March, but some notices arrive as early as late February, and dates sometimes vary within a school based on grade levels or rolling admissions. Likewise, the time that your family has to make a final decision and submit the enrollment contract ranges from two weeks to a month.

Revisit days are a key resource in your final decision-making. Maximize this opportunity to experience the school and ask questions. Of course, revisit days may look different now due to COVID–19. Most private schools are adapting, offering online open houses and opportunities for applicants to attend school virtually for a day.