背景波图形。
一位忙碌的父母在她的汽车方向盘上贴着待办事项便笺提醒。

使用SAO可以节省多长时间?

2022 年 6 月 27 日

如果您是第一次经历私立学校的申请流程,那么最大的开眼界可能是研究和申请少数顶级学校所需的时间。通过备受吹捧的标准在线申请(SAO)可以显着减少您的时间投入,这听起来几乎好得令人难以置信。但事实并非如此。

你能节省多长时间?

好吧,这取决于您提交的申请数量,但我们知道使用SAO的家庭平均完成三份申请。虽然我们没有秒表来衡量在每个元素上花费的时间,但我们可以做出合理的估计。

让我们来看看这个...

  • 完成个人资料和人口统计信息可能需要15分钟;
  • 1小时提交推荐请求,持续查看状态,友好提醒;
  • 15 分钟发送成绩单请求
  • 半小时收集入学评估分数并将其提交给学校;
  • 三个小时让您的孩子写论文,一个小时让您证明和提供反馈;
  • 以及一个小时的整体组织和与学校的沟通,以了解您在此过程中的状态。

每个应用程序总共需要七个小时,这是一个保守的估计,因为通过带有直观清单的单个仪表板管理多个应用程序的长期节省时间的好处很难量化。但是,以三个应用程序的平均值为例,在第二次和第三次提交时,使用此估计值 可以节省 14 个小时 。对于五个应用程序,节省了 28 小时!

塔夫脱学校正在进行的SAO申请的屏幕截图。
能够与SAO保持井井有条,并轻松跟踪每所学校的申请进度,将节省比您想象的更多的时间。

如上所述,SAO直观的清单以及在一个地方跟踪申请截止日期以及所有表格和要求的能力无疑节省了时间。以下SAO最佳做法将进一步帮助您最大限度地节省时间。

1. 在创建帐户时输入个人资料信息。

无论您是注册SSATCharacter Skills Snapshot还是SAO,我们最初的家庭帐户设置都会要求您提供广泛的个人资料和学生兴趣信息。这在当时可能看起来很乏味,但是在最初开始时输入此信息将加载所有信息,并准备通过SAO查询和应用程序提交给学校,从而使您以后不必添加它。

2.使用我们的私立学校搜索来查找接受SAO的学校。

我们的私立学校搜索有一个过滤器,用于选择接受SAO的学校。将其与位置、日间或寄宿、年级、宗教和学生兴趣的过滤器相结合,快速识别和了解符合您家庭偏好的顶级学校。

3. 通过SAO让学校知道您感兴趣。

一旦您在我们的系统中输入了您家庭的个人资料信息,并通过搜索发现了学校,让他们通过SAO知道他们感兴趣,这是快速而简单的。将学校添加到SAO仪表板时,选中复选框以表明您对学校的兴趣。他们的招生团队将收到通知,打开沟通渠道,确保您了解开放日活动和申请要求。仅仅了解情况的节省时间的潜力是巨大的。

4. 撰写并提交SAO论文。

向多所学校提交一篇论文可以节省大量时间,每增加一份申请,就会迅速增加。学生还可以在提交之前直接在SAO中撰写论文,家长可以对其进行审阅,从而节省更多复制和粘贴时间。

一些学校接受SAO提交的内容以及其网站上的本地应用程序。这种做法可能会让你想知道他们最看重哪篇文章,但你不必担心。在接受SAO时,每所学校都同意将SAO论文与其原生网站应用程序同等对待。实际上,通过系统集成,这两个应用程序通常一起落在同一个收件箱中。

接受SAO的学校之所以这样做,是因为他们希望消除障碍,使家庭的申请过程尽可能简单。认为这是一个积极的迹象——你已经找到了一所关心家长经历的学校——并接受他们节省时间的报价。

立即开始使用您的SAO应用程序

我们来谈谈Standard Application Online

了解有关SAO的更多信息,并在本期#admission聊天播客中听取学校的观点。

最新的文章

阅读有关寻找和申请最适合您的学校的最新建议。

查看全部

考私立学校难吗?

这是一个没有万能答案的问题。让我们来看看家庭应该考虑哪些因素来明确入学问题。

未找到任何项目。
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 5 月 24 日
2022 年 5 月 24 日

如何让您的孩子为寄宿学校做好准备

如何让您的孩子为上寄宿学校做好准备?在装载汽车并说再见之前,您可以开始做一些事情。

未找到任何项目。
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 5 月 12 日
2022 年 5 月 12 日

家长和私立学校:如何建立牢固的伙伴关系

您可能已经与您的孩子讨论过要上一所新的私立学校,但您也加入了一个新的社区 - 以下是如何充分利用它!

未找到任何项目。
箭头图标链接。
2022 年 4 月 25 日
2022 年 4 月 25 日
背景波图形。

A background wave graphic.
A busy parent with to-do Post-It note reminders on her car's steering wheel.

How much time can I save with the SAO?

June 27, 2022

If this is your first experience going through the private school application process, the biggest eye-opener is likely the time it takes to research and apply to a handful of top-choice schools. The potential to significantly reduce your time investment with the highly-touted Standard Application Online (SAO) almost sounds too good to be true. But it’s not. 

How much time can you save?

Well, that depends on how many applications you submit, but we know that families using the SAO complete three applications on average. And while we don’t have a stopwatch measuring the time spent on each element, we can make reasonable estimates. 

Let’s walk through this…

  • It likely takes 15 minutes to complete the profile and demographic information; 
  • An hour to submit recommendation requests, continually check their status, and send friendly reminders;
  • 15 minutes to send transcript requests
  • A half-hour to gather admission assessment scores and submit them to the schools; 
  • Three hours for your child to write their essay and an hour for you to proof and provide feedback; 
  • And an hour for overall organization and communication with the school to understand your status in the process.

That’s a total of seven hours per application, and it’s a conservative estimate as the long-term time-saving benefits of managing multiple applications through a single dashboard with an intuitive checklist are hard to quantify. However, take the average of three applications, and on the second and third submission, you’d save 14 hours with this estimate. For five applications, it’s 28 hours saved!

A screenshot of an SAO application in progress to the Taft School.
The ability to stay organized with the SAO and easily track application progress for each school will save more time than you think.

As outlined above, the SAO’s intuitive checklist and ability to track application deadlines and all forms and requirements in one place is a definite time-saver. The following SAO best practices will further help you maximize your time savings.

1. Enter profile information at account creation.

Whether you’re registering for the SSAT, the Character Skills Snapshot, or the SAO, our initial family account setup asks for a wide range of profile and student interest information. It may seem tedious at the time, but inputting this information at the initial get-go will have it all loaded and ready to submit to schools via SAO inquiries and applications, saving you from having to add it later.

2. Use our private school search to find schools that accept the SAO.

Our private school search has a filter for schools that accept the SAO. Combine it with filters for location, day or boarding, grade levels, religion, and student interests to quickly identify and learn about top-fitting schools that meet your family’s preferences.

3. Let schools know you’re interested via the SAO.

Once you’ve entered your family’s profile information into our system and have discovered schools through the search, letting them know you’re interested via the SAO is quick and easy. While adding schools to your SAO dashboard, select the checkbox to demonstrate your interest in the school. Their admissions team will receive a notification, opening the lines of communication and ensuring that you’re aware of open house events and application requirements. The time-saving potential of simply being in the know is tremendous.

4. Write and submit the SAO essay.

Submitting one essay to multiple schools is a huge time saver that quickly adds up with each additional application. Students can also write their essay—and parents can review it—directly in the SAO before submission, saving more time from copying and pasting.

Some schools accept submissions from the SAO and a native application on their website. This practice may have you wondering which essay they value most, but you don’t need to worry. In accepting the SAO, each school agrees to treat the SAO essay equally with its native website application. In fact, through system integrations, both applications often land in the same inbox together. 

Schools accepting the SAO are doing so because they want to remove barriers and make the application process as simple as they can for families. Consider it a positive sign—you’ve found a school that cares about the parent experience—and take them up on their time-saving offer. 

Get started with your SAO application today.

Let’s Talk About the Standard Application Online

Learn more about the SAO and hear a school’s perspective in this episode of the #admission chat podcast.

Latest Articles

Read the most up-to-date advice on finding and applying to your best-fit school. 

View All

Is it hard to get into private school?

It's a question without a one-size-fits-all answer. Let's take a look at the factors families should consider to bring clarity to the question about getting in.

No items found.
An arrow icon link.
May 24, 2022
May 24, 2022

How to Prepare Your Child for Boarding School

How can you get your child ready for boarding school? Here are some things you can start doing well before you load up the car and say your goodbyes.

No items found.
An arrow icon link.
May 12, 2022
May 12, 2022

Parents and Private Schools: How to Build a Strong Partnership

You've probably talked to your child about attending a new private school, but you're also joining a new community—here's how to make the most of it!

No items found.
An arrow icon link.
Apr 25, 2022
Apr 25, 2022
A background wave graphic.